skip navigation
AZ.gov Arizona's Official Website Department of Liquor Licenses and Control
Agency Name AZ.gov Arizona's Official Web Site

Out-of-state Microbrewery Application Kit (Series 2M)

Out-of-state Microbrewery Application Kit (Series 2M)

The Out-of-State Microbrewery may produce between 5,000 and 6,240,000 gallons of beer per calendar year and ship and sell beer produced on the premises to Arizona liquor-licensed wholesalers.

This license does not permit Internet sale of liquor into the state of Arizona.

This license does not permit the shipment of liquor to individuals located in the state of Arizona. Beer must be delivered to an Arizona liquor-licensed wholesaler who then delivers to an Arizona liquor-licensed retailer prior to delivery to the consumer.

Sales or beer produced by other microbreweries may not exceed 20% of the licensee's annual sales by volume on the licensed premieses.

With this license, when production is no more than 1,240,000 gallons per calendar year, the in-state microbrewery may make sales and deliveries of beer to any retail license licensed to sell beer except for its retail licenses on or adjacent to the microbrewery.

Internet sale of beer is not permitted in the state of Arizona. Liquor must be delivered to an Arizona liquor-licensed wholesaler, then an Arizona liquor-licensed retailer prior to delivery to the consumer.

The licensee must sumbit an annual production report to the Arizona Department of Liquor.

Owner/agents of Out-of-State Microbreweries are responsible for taxes per A.R.S. §4-112(B) and (C), A.R.S. §4-201(A)(5), A.R.S. §4-205.04(E) and (F), R19-1-305.

Arizona assumes that out-of-state applicants have completed fingerprint and background check process when being licensed in their state and there is no need for duplication. Applicants may select the types of ownerships listed in the application instructions and dismiss any language that references a bona fide Arizona resident or in the name of a designated agent that meets the requirements of an individual licensee.

Each U.S. state has a unique Federal ATF Permit # which is requested on this application. Countries outside of the U.S. may complete this section with "n/a" (not applicable).

ADDITIONAL RIGHTS AND RESPONSIBILITIES: An out-of-state producer, exporter, importer or rectifier must comply with the provisions of Title 4(Arizona liquor law) in the same manner as an in-state licensee. Violations of Title 4 may result in a fine or civil penalty and the suspension or revocation of the right to do business in Arizona.

ARIZONA STATUTES AND REGULATIONS: A.R.S. §4-205.08 (microbrewery statutes), 4-202(E)(recordkeeping), 4-205.08(F) & (G)(taxes), Rules R19-1-104 (shipping), R19-1-305 (taxes), R19-1-319 (coercion or bribery), R19-1-501 (recordkeeping)

Average Approval Time: Seven (7) to ten (10) days.
Period of Issuance: One (1) year with option to renew.
Application Fees:
Non-refundable application fee: $100.00
Interim Permit fee: n/a
Fees Due Upon Approval:
Final fees (Full Year): $600.00
Final fees (Half Year): $450.00
Annual renewal fee (includes surcharge): $120.00