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The Arizona Department of Ligquor Licenses and Control (Department)
is committed to ensuring public safety through education,
prevention and enforcement when appropriate. One of the agency’s
highest priorities is to prevent the sale of alcohol to underage
persons. This goal can only be achieved with the support and
cooperation of licensed liquor establishments that are required
under the law to act responsibly and not sell alcohol to underage
persons.

The Department utilizes a covert underage buyer (CUB) program
wherein underage buyers are deployed by Department investigators
to determine if a licensed establishment is selling alcochol to
underage persons. Initially, this occurs when a complaint of such
activity is alleged to the Department.

Education and collaboration is the Department’s preferred approach
to preventing underage liquor sales. The primary applicable
statutes that licensees are encouraged to train and discuss with
their employees include:

. ARS 4-241.A, Requires the licensee or their employees to
properly inspect identification from ANY potential
underage buyer, and ensure the sale is legal.

. ARS 4-241.K, Prohibits the licensee or their employees
from accepting an Arizona vertical ID 30 days after a

perscon’s 21%° birthday.

’ ARS 4-244.9, Makes it illegal to furnish alcohel to any
underage perscn.
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The Department enforces the law regarding the sale of alcohol to
underage persons and will be implementing an even more vigorous
enforcement posture utilizing the CUB program. The Department asks
for your cooperation and attention to Arizona law so together we
can keep alcohol out of the hands of underage persons.

To date, the Department’s proactive initiatives to minimize the
sale of alcohol to underage persons has not achieved the reduction
in violations that we had strived for. Despite providing written
and verbal notification to retailers that a complaint of underage
service was received, and informing the alleged violators that a
CUB {(Covert Underage Buyer) inspection would be conducted, we
continue tc see an unacceptable vicolation rate. Consequently,
effective April 1, 2019, the Department will increase the monetary
penalties assessed to licensees when an underage service
violation, via a CUB investigation, is established. A typical CUB
violation results in (2) Title IV charges that combined, per
Arizona law, carry a maximum penalty of $6,000. Presently, on a
first violation, at the Department’s discretion, a licensee can
settle both charges by paying $750.00 via a mail-in consent
agreement. The minimum penalty for the same type of violations
will increase to $1,500. A second viclation will result in a
minimum penalty of $4,000, A third violation will result in a
minimum penalty of 56,000, and a license suspension of 3 days.

BAgain, the Department asks for your support in preventing the sale
of alcohol to underage persons. The Department is proactively
providing you the planned penalty increases which we believe are
necessary at this point te gain compliance. It is our sincerest
desire that the assessment of increased monetary penalties alters
the actions of some retailers and prevents future violations.

Sincerely,
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Michael D. Rosenberger
Deputy Director
Investigations Division



