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State of Arizona 
Department of Liquor Licenses and Control 

800 W Washington, 5th Floor 
Phoenix, Arizona 85007-2934 

www.azliquor.gov 
(602) 542-5141

Arizona Liquor License Renewal Instructions
You are applying for renewal of your Arizona liquor license(s).  All sections of the application must be 
updated with accurate and complete information or the application will be returned.  To avoid the 
$150 late fee, the completed renewal application, amendments (when requested by the state), and 
fees must be postmarked on or before the expiration date of your liquor license.  For expiration dates by 
license/county, use this link from the Department of Liquor website: 
http://www.azliquor.gov/forms/lic_licensefeeandtype.pdf .  Arizona law does not permit late fees to be 
waived or refunded.  A.R.S. §4-209(A)  

It remains the responsibility of the licensee to apply for renewal prior to expiration of their liquor 
license(s).   

Before submitting your application, please ensure that the following items are current, accurate, and 
complete: 

1. All licensing forms mentioned below can be found using this link from the Department of Liquor
website: http://www.azliquor.gov/formsindex.cfm.

2. Arizona corporations and LLC’s must be in good standing with the Arizona Corporation
Commission (ACC) for liquor license renewal.  Check your status with the ACC before submitting
your renewal.

3. Unresolved state and local tax deficiencies on record at the Arizona Department of Liquor can
prevent a license from being renewed.  Requests to release a tax lien are the responsibility of the
licensee.

4. Unresolved violations with the Department of Liquor can prevent a license from being renewed.
Contact the Compliance Unit at 602-542-9050 if you have a pending compliance action.

5. Title 4 (Arizona liquor law) training must be current.  All certificates expire 3- years after issuance.
Types of training are listed on this link:
http://www.azliquor.gov/communications/trainers/trainers.cfm

6. Licenses in “inactive” status must still be renewed annually.  A license that is not renewed within
sixty days after the due date is deemed terminated.  A.R.S. §4-209(A) A license automatically
reverts to the state after being held in continuous non-use in excess of thirty-six months.  A.R.S.
§4-203(G)

7. OWNERSHIP sections, where applicable, must be completed and account for 100 percent of
ownership that affects control of the license or licensee.  Use whole numbers only.

8. Arizona compliance notices are sent to the “address of record” for your license.  To ensure you
receive these notices, complete the “business information/name change” form when the point
of contact for your license changes.

9. The licensee or an authorized representative of the licensee must sign the renewal (paper
process only).  A notarized signature is not required.

http://www.azliquor.gov
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10. Restaurant (Series 12) and Hotel/Motel w/Restaurant (series 11) license renewals must include a 
completed Business Data Report.

11. “Annual production reports” are required to renew the following licenses:
a. Microbreweries (series 3 and 2M),
b. Farm Wineries (Series 2W and 13),
c. Limited out-of-state Wineries (Series 2L),
d. Craft Distilleries (Series 2D and 18),
e. Remote Tasting Room (Series 19) – this renewal is submitted with the primary license 

(Series 2D, 2W, 13, or 18),
f. Alternating proprietorship (Series 20) – this renewal is submitted with the primary license

(Series 2W or 13).
Annual Production Reports are for the previous calendar year (i.e. if your renewing in 2017, the 
Annual Production Report will be for the year 2016).  Visit this link for more information about filing 
an Annual Production Report: http://www.azliquor.gov/AnnualProduction/index.cfm  

12. The following renewals are not available in the drop-down menu on the department's primary 
license renewal web page. They are in the department's new e-licensing system.

a. Direct-to-Consumer Wine Ship (Series 17W),
b. Alternating Proprietorship (Series 20)
c. Custom Crush (Series 21)

13. Sampling and Growler privileges are renewed with the primary license (i.e.: Series 9, 10, or 12).
Privileges will not be renewed if not acted on.   For multiple license renewals using traditional 
paper processing, do not combine licenses with and without sampling and growler privileges on 
one application.  These secondary licenses show up as their own license for renewal in the new 
on-line system.

Fees and Payments: The total of all fees must be correct for an application to be processed.   Incorrect 
applications with payment will be rejected.  If the payment encompasses numbers of licenses, all 
renewals will be rejected.

The new e-licensing system only accepts Visa or Mastercard, and there is a $7 per transaction fee.  
Multiple renewals can be combined into a shopping cart to limit the transaction fee to a single fee.

Make checks payable to: Arizona Department of Liquor.  Fees for dishonored checks will be charged as 
provided in A.R.S. §44-6852. 
 Accepted Payment Methods include: 

 Cash
 personal check
 money order
 cashier's check
 Visa or MasterCard (walk-customers only)

Finding Arizona Compliance Forms: All Arizona liquor compliance forms can be found using this link to 
the Department of Liquor website: http://www.azliquor.gov/formsindex.cfm .   

Contact Your Customer Service Representative:  Name, phone number, email and office addresses can 
be found using this link: http://www.azliquor.gov/contact_licensing.cfm.   
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